Gold 2.0Si

The place to show off and tell us all about your XMs (or even other cars). Should it be a big project, or just some general pics, start your thread in here.
Eddie nuff
Could do a 2.1 headgasket

Gold 2.0Si

Post by Eddie nuff » Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:40 pm

Hello folks. My reason for registering has already been discussed,if not in the most harmonious of terms.

I've been on FCF for about 3 months, had a Xantia Hdi for the past 5 years and a 1.9TD for 10 years before that.

I'm no expert, far from it, but definitely an eager enthusiast.

I've been looking for a S1 XM for a few months, preferably diesel, hopefully V6 but one where the paperwork was more important than the car.

This car isn't perfect, far from it, but it has had money spent on it in the past. According to the paperwork it had a cambelt tensioner pop in 2010 and from that had new belts, tensioners and cover. It also had new spheres and a new headgasket. But the head looks very clean, if not new, and has been re-fitted with new bolts. There's no mention of a new head in the papers.

The car was sat on the floor when we got there, wearing its gorgeous after-market rims. The oil was clear, the air filter newish and the spark plugs clean, even though the owner said he hadn't serviced it in the 9 months he'd had it. There was next to no LHM in the reservoir and we couldn't find where it had leaked from due to the fact that the engine bay was filthy, covered in gunk and dirt. The NSF bumper has come off the holder, there's a small dent in the hatch and the poor quality repair on the OSR arch but apart from that it's solid. The tyres are not good, two blebs in the OSF, the OSR inner wall is shattered, and the NSF is the wrong size (175). The bonus is that all the electrics bar the NSF fog and the front inner roof light work. Amazing on any Citroen never mind one 23 years old.