XM REPAIRS

New to the forum? Feel free to introduce yourself / your cars. Also have a look for any frequently asked questions and information.
InsidiousXM
XM newbie

XM REPAIRS

Post by InsidiousXM » Sat Nov 19, 2011 5:21 pm

Hi guys, Im new to the forum. Im a proud owner of a Citroen XM sx mk2 2.1td, free from a lovely chap where it was in a field for 5 odd years! Endorfin got it for me (cheers, I think?) I must admit, Im a complete novice and know nothing about cars!

Anyway, Ive taken the rad and intercooler out as there was a leak from a pipe spurting out LHM. the rad and the intercooler crumbled in my hands, so I know they need replacing. But the pipe thats leaking has a hole the size of an ant, I think it leads to the the ABS? its the silver motor next to the green sphere below the fuel filter.

Can this be repaired or should I replace the pipe? also theres another leak at the back, kerb side- spurting LHM, this is four small pipes running together througout. A pin hole just spraying a mist of LHM. can this be repaired or must the pipe be replaced? Does it come individually or do I have to replace the whole section?

Ill be a frequent visitor learning as mush as I can when I come across a problem that I have with the XM. I hope I can do it justice and get it back on the road....

Chris

Peter.N.
Global Moderator

Re: XM REPAIRS

Post by Peter.N. » Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:08 pm

Hi Chris

Welcome to the club. I'm pleased to see you have the best model - as long as its manual :D I expect its stay in the field had taken its toll on the hydraulic pipework. Most repairs I have made by cutting out a section and replacing it, you used to be able to get a flaring tool, pipe and fittings from Plaiades but don't know if they are still doing them.

Don't know where you reside but if its in the south west I have a radiator and intercooler that I believe are OK. You will love it when itd done.

Peter
'96 'N' 2.1 td VSX manual estate White RP6695. Sadly gone