New owner

New to the forum? Feel free to introduce yourself / your cars. Also have a look for any frequently asked questions and information.
DERV_Monkey
XM newbie

New owner

Post by DERV_Monkey » Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:18 am

Hi everybody, i'm new to XM ownership having just purchased a '92 2.1 SD in dark grey. I have had around 30 modern classics (albeit mostly German) in my time and have always promised myself that I would get an XM one day. The car is very different dynamically than anything I have ever owned but this particular example has an interesting quirk which I hope somebody can help me with. The steering seems to be intermittently notchy and stiff. Especially in the mornings it seems like I am trying to turn the wheel through thick treacle and the quicker I try and turn it the more difficult it is. Also the suspension does not seem to have that magic carpet ride that I have heard so much about not really being any more comfortable than my old E30 BMW. Can anybody shed any light on what might be the problem?
Thanks,

robert_e_smart
Global Moderator

Re: New owner

Post by robert_e_smart » Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:33 am

Welcome to the forum,

For your suspension, the spheres may be due a change. Around £20 a pop.

Steering could be a couple of things. Is the belt for the hydraulic pump tight enough, is the Hydraulic fluid reservoir at the correct level. It could also be a FDV valve (search for this on here) that may be playing up giving the symptoms you are experiencing.
1990 XM 2.1 Turbo SD
2008 Volvo V70 D5 SE Lux Automatic
2009 Volvo XC90 D5 SE Automatic

xmexclusive
Global Moderator

Post by xmexclusive » Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:42 am

Hi Derv M

Welcome to our website.
All 3 hydraulic items on an XM are supplied by a single pump.
Brakes, Suspension and Power Steering.
If there are supply or pressure problems the the systems drop out in order of safety.
PS goes first and brakes last.
The hydraulic system is not always well maintained.